Second Drape Embroidery Placement

This drape is a simple, very shapely jacket/vest that captures the simplicity I wish to achieve within my drapes to allow the embroideries to be the feature rather than the silhouette. I explored the embroidery placement of multiple samples, however some of my samples (ie first traditional/ truely bedazzled sample) I felt did not suit the aesthetic/ jacket style I am trying to capture with this drape. Once again I played with scale, repeat and styling of the embroideries on Illustrator in order to explore further possibilities with my samples.

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 3.43.15 PM

 

Above is the first embroidery placement I undertook both on the stand, simply pinning my sample to the drape and on illustrator. I envision this drape to be made out of 100% wool heavy fabric to move it into the coat side of a drape, however I can also see it in a lighter fabric as more of a kimono/ cover up garment. Either way the embroidery would be the feature and the fabric would have to be able to support and compliment the fabric manipulation that the shell is made out. I love how each shell is on the either side of the opening and I continued this idea below…

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 4.10.15 PM

Here I expanded on the above idea, playing with repeat and size, here the shells would cover/ be near the CF closure hook and eyes. I really love this embroidery placement!! I decided to play around with the idea of my toile having placement pockets on Illustrator and need to pin these onto my stitched toile to see how they look with the incredibly draped base part.

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 11.34.26 AM   Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 11.46.47 AM

I decided to just try layering the embroidery over the drape without scaling down, creating fabric in a way. The lines of my third traditional embroidery piece match the lines of the shoulder on the drape and the flat felt seams on the front. I actually really like how this looks, however know it would probably be very difficult to create something like this in the industry due to prices and would not turn out this way – Illustrator giving me false hope!

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 11.53.45 AM

Screen Shot 2014-08-01 at 8.41.44 PMScreen Shot 2014-08-01 at 8.42.18 PM

 

Again I played with scale and repeat, creating a similar look to my first embroidery placement using a different sample…

Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 11.59.35 AM Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 12.01.29 PM Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 12.04.12 PM  Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 12.08.13 PM

 

I feel the above sample (my second traditional sample) does not work very well with this drape due to the large cut out as the arm hole, and the line of the above part a la the flat felt seam. However, I still attempted to place it onto this drape using scale and creating another all over embroidery look as fabric. I love this drape and feel it captures my inspiration and concept holistically…

Leave a comment