Second Drape

After completing my first drape, which was very much based on an illustration and developed only slightly on the mannequin I decided to conduct my second drape more organically on the mannequin. I started by cutting a simple half moon shape to start my drape from and let the bodice/ jacket silhouette form. My first drape was very structural and a simple silhouette so I wanted this drape to have more fabric/ shape. I let this drape form quickly and whilst it requires minimal sewing and seams it is a nice contrast to my first drape. I am inspired to see how the embroidery can be placed on such a simple drape with a large fabric area…

Front of my second drape - two seams flat felt

Front of my second drape – two seams flat felt

After looking at this drape in a more conceptual light I can also relate the construction/ silhouette of this drape to my original concept/ inspiration of the scallop shell. The side openings a la arm holes create the traditional scallop shape of an arch and meet in the centre much like the shells. This is reminiscent of my second contemporary design with the two shells facing into each other and the beads moving out in a gradient, I will most likely begin by using this embroidery on this drape and experiment with scale.

Side of drape

Side of drape

Back of drape

Back of drape

 

Once I stitch this drape up I will print out varying scales of my second contemporary design and position them to see how it develops, and perhaps add some pockets as a design feature.

 

Quick pin up using my second contemporary design

Quick pin up using my second contemporary design

IMG_5414

Journal details…

Leave a Reply

