Beginning to drape

As part of our assessment task for this global study we have to create a minimum of two bodice or dress toiles, that indicate where our embroidery samples would be placed/ incorporated. An idea I first had for this part would be to create two drapes that can be worn separately or together, with the embroidery complimenting the silhouettes and the pairing of the garments. To begin this part of the assessment I began with some quick sketches to get a feel for placement of embroidery on a garment…

Embroidery Placement Prelim Drape Ideas

Embroidery Placement Prelim Drape Ideas

Prelim Drape Ideas, incorporate knit?

Prelim Drape Ideas, incorporate knit?

Dress drape/ embroidery placement (indicate scale)

Dress drape/ embroidery placement (indicate scale)

I want my drapes to compliment the embroidery, whilst also drawing on the initial inspiration of scallop shells. I will most likely attempt to drape using pleats, as the line of the pleats mimics the linear motion of the inside/ outside of a scallop shell. Also, panel lines and seams will also be used to highlight the scallop shell inspiration. After I have completed my drapes I will indicate embroidery placement using Photoshop and/or Illustrator as I will be able to scale up or scale down the size of the samples, and also remove the backing fabric for a few of them as I want to use the design as a repeat on a garment rather than just a placement aesthetic feature.

 

An Obvious Drape

An Obvious Drape

 

 

Leave a Reply

